ElectroRockFolk / CountryRap / Hip-hopPopJazzLatinReggaeBluesSoul / FunkClassicalScreen / StageBrassRecordsFor childrenOther
» » John Cougar - American Fool
John Cougar - American Fool album download


John Cougar


American Fool



MP3 album size:

1875 mb

Other music formats:



4.4 ✱


Pop Rock, Hard Rock, Rock & Roll



Date of release:


John Cougar - American Fool album download

John Cougar is the third studio album by John Mellencamp. This was the first album with his new record company Riva Records and under the name "John Cougar. Released in 1979, following the Australian success of "I Need a Lover" from the previous year's A Biography (which did not receive a . release), the album included the aforementioned track for . audiences, as well as a re-working of A Biography's "Taxi Dancer.

John Cougar 컬렉션을 완성하세요. American Fool ‎(Cass, Album, Club).

American Fool', The album before 'Uh Huh', was produced during the period when he was forced by his record company Riva to adopt the fake surname 'Cougar' for commercial reasons. He rightly detested this, and developed a personal antipathy to his work at the time to a certain extent, and his fans followed his lead, resulting in this album tending to be underestimated. This is a shame, for it contains much excellent music; simple, powerful, with a restrained, intelligent anger apparent in the lyrics. Not only was this album a huge commercial success for John & Mellencamp in 1982, it reached number 1 in the . and Canada and was 5 times Multi-Platinum in both those countries (only his 1985 album would manage those sales again, but only reaching no. 2). With American Fool, JM started to be heard in Europe, probably mostly in the.

American Fool stayed on top of the album chart for a couple months. The LP would end up going platinum five times. Although Mellencamp wasn’t fully satisfied with his songwriting on American Fool, he was thrilled to reap the rewards of success. One of those was the ability to begin reclaiming his actual name. If Mellencamp isn't crazy about American Fool, listeners sure have been. It remains his only No. 1 album and his bestseller (followed closely by 1985’s Scarecrow)

1990 Ato Records, Red. Hurts so Goodsubmit Jack & Dianesubmit Hand to Hold on to Danger Listsubmit Can you Take itsubmit Thundering Heartssubmit China Girl Close Enoughsubmit Weakest Momentssubmit. You are viewing John Cougar Mellencamp Chords in the album American Fool More Albums.

A picture of John Mellencamp's album, American Fool. I drew this as a gift to a friend. John Cougar American Fool. A picture of John Mellencamp's album, American Fool.

Producer Don Gehman stated in a 2011 interview that American Fool was fraught with layers of problems. We had 20 or so songs, we had a record company that was hoping we were making a Neil Diamond‑type album, and after we spent two or three months in the studio recording these songs and mixing them to the best of our ability, I can remember an A&R guy in a pink shirt coming in to listen to them and. basically thinking we had nothing. At that point, they put a stop to the project. We had ‘Jack & Diane,’ we had ‘Hand To Hold On To,’ we had ‘Weakest Moments’ - we had some good songs.

Album: American Fool (1982). Charted: 25 1. Get the Sheet Music License This Song. Weird Al Yankovic planned to parody this song on his 1983 debut album as "Chuck And Diane," making fun of the royal couple Prince Charles and Lady Diana. Yankovic couldn't get Mellencamp's permission to do the parody (which he asks as a courtesy, as anyone can parody a song as long as proper royalties are paid), so he used the lyrical content for an original song called "Buckingham Blues" instead.

Продавец: Интернет-магазин Ozon. Адрес: Россия, Москва, Пресненская набережная, 10. ОГРН: 1027739244741

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Hurts So Good
Written-By – G.M. Green*, John "Cougar" Mellencamp*
A2 Jack & Diane
Written-By – John "Cougar" Mellencamp*
A3 Hand To Hold On To
Written-By – John "Cougar" Mellencamp*
A4 Danger List
Written-By – John "Cougar" Mellencamp*, Larry Crane
A5 Can You Take It
Written-By – John "Cougar" Mellencamp*
B1 Thundering Hearts
Written-By – G.M. Green*, John "Cougar" Mellencamp*
B2 China Girl
Written-By – Jeff Silbar, Joe New
B3 Close Enough
Written-By – John "Cougar" Mellencamp*
B4 Weakest Moments
Written-By – John "Cougar" Mellencamp*

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Record Service GmbH
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – WEA International Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – Riva Records, Inc.
  • Distributed By – WEA Records SA / NV
  • Distributed By – WEA Musik GmbH
  • Distributed By – WEA Records Ltd.
  • Distributed By – WEA Filipacchi Music
  • Distributed By – WEA Italiana S.p.A.
  • Distributed By – WEA Records B.V.
  • Distributed By – WEA Music Ges.m.b.H.
  • Distributed By – WEA Metronome Records AB
  • Published By – Riva Music, Inc.
  • Published By – Smokin' Joe Music
  • Published By – BUG Music Group
  • Published By – Bobby Goldsboro Music, Inc.
  • Recorded At – Cherokee Studios
  • Recorded At – Criteria Recording Studios
  • Mastered At – Strawberry Mastering
  • Made By – WEA Musik GmbH
  • Pressed By – Record Service Alsdorf
  • Printed By – Druckhaus Maack KG


  • Art Direction – Bill Levy
  • Bass – George "Chocolate" Perry
  • Design – John Van Hamersveld
  • Drums – Ken Aronoff*
  • Engineer – Don Gehman, George Tutko, Mark Stebbeds
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Al Stegmeyer, Brad Gilderman, Dennis Hetzendorfer
  • Guitar – Larry Crane, Mike Wanchic
  • Photography By – Jurgen Vollmer
  • Producer – Don Gehman, John Cougar Mellencamp


For Butch & Faye

Cherokee-Criteria Studios, '81/82

All songs published by Riva Music Ltd., administered in the U.S. and Canada by Riva Music Inc. (ASCAP)
Except (B2) published by Smokin' Joe Music (BMI) administered by Bug Music Group Bobby Goldsboro Music Inc. (ASCAP)
Made in Germany by WEA Musik GmbH [\' logo] A Warner Communications Company

Manufactured in Germany by Record Service GmbH, Alsdorf · Pressé en Allemagne par Record Service GmbH, Alsdorf a Warner Communications Company
℗ 1982 WEA International Inc. © 1982 Riva Records, Inc

Belgique/België: Distributed by WEA Records S.A./N.V.
Deutschland: Vertrieb durch WEA Musik GmbH
England: Distributed by WEA Records Ltd.
France: Distribué par WEA/Fillipacchi Music, Paris
Italia: Distributed by WEA Italiana S.P.A.
Nederland: Distributed by WEA Records B.V.
Österreich: Vertrieb durch WEA Music Ges.m.b.H.
Sverige: Distributed by WEA Metronome Records AB

Druckhaus Maack KG, Lüdenscheid

Includes picture inner sleeve with credits.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: STEMRA
  • Label Code: LC 4281
  • Matrix / Runout (Label side A): WEA 57 004 - 1
  • Matrix / Runout (Label side B): WEA 57 004 - 2
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side A): R/S Alsdorf 57004 A x · STAWBERRY (C) · 4
  • Matrix / Runout (Runout side B): R/S Alsdorf 57004 B STAWBERRY (C) 45
  • Price Code (Germany:): Ⓤ
  • Price Code (France:): WE 351

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RVL 7501 John Cougar* American Fool ‎(LP, Album, 53-) Riva RVL 7501 US 1982
RVL4 7501 John Cougar* American Fool ‎(Cass, Album, Dol) Riva RVL4 7501 Canada 1982
RVL 7501 John Cougar* American Fool ‎(LP, Album, RE, 180) Riva RVL 7501 US 2016
57004 John Cougar* American Fool ‎(LP) WEA 57004 Australia 1982
U 57004 John Cougar* American Fool ‎(LP, Album) WEA U 57004 Portugal 1982

MP3 FLAC related to John Cougar - American Fool