ElectroRockFolk / CountryRap / Hip-hopPopJazzLatinReggaeBluesSoul / FunkClassicalScreen / StageBrassRecordsFor childrenOther
» » William Parker - Song Cycle
William Parker - Song Cycle album download


William Parker


Song Cycle



MP3 album size:

1778 mb

Other music formats:



4.3 ✱


Free Jazz, Free Improvisation

Date of release:


William Parker - Song Cycle album download

This album makes abundantly clear, at once, William Parker's multifarious talents as a bassist, composer, bandleader and songwriter. Raining On The Moon is the extraordinary group which seamlessly fuses all of these prodigious gifts. In addition to the full-group work here are a pair of supremely tender duets by Leena & Eri on 'Prayer' and 'Poem For June Jordan'. There are times she'll sing/say a phrase and it hits me like The Truth.

About William Parker. In the early '90s, the direct musical heirs of vanguard jazzmen such as Cecil Taylor, Albert Ayler, and Ornette Coleman were largely ignored by New York critics, who found more to like about the hard bop revivalists who dominated major-label recording. Hence, the public visibility of musicians devoted to an "energy music" aesthetic was minimal. The album Live appeared from Thirsty Ear. Parker toured for much of the year, and released several concert recordings, some cut some years earlier. In July, Song Sentimentale appeared from Otoroku. It was compiled from three nights of concerts at Cafe Oto by Brötzmann, Parker, and Drake, and released as two separate volumes in different formats. Each contained a unique track listing.

Biography by Chris Kelsey. A major force in 1990s/2000s free jazz; he is a bassist, composer, and leader of numerous groups. Charles Gayle, Willia. Ras. ouchin' on Trane.

Song Cycle is the debut album by American recording artist Van Dyke Parks, released in late 1967 by Warner Bros. Records president Lenny Waronker. The album draws from a number of American popular music genres, including bluegrass, ragtime, and show tunes, and frames classical styles in the context of 1960s pop music. In 2013, Tiny Mix Tapes called the album a masterpiece of postmodern Americana Song Cycle.

William Parker, William Huckaby - Three Indian Songs: Song of the Deathless Voice, No. 1 02:09. William Parker, Чарлз Айвз, Dalton Baldwin - Sunrise 05:59. William Parker, Чарлз Айвз, Dalton Baldwin - At The River 01:24. William Parker, William Huckaby - Four American Indian Songs: The White Dawn is Stealing, No. 2 01:53. William Parker, William Huckaby - Three Indian Songs: The Old Man's Love Song, No. 3 03:21. William Parker, William Huckaby - An Old Song Re-sung 01:40. William Parker, Чарлз Айвз, Dalton Baldwin - His Exaltation 02:14

Requiem (William Parker album). William Parker (musician) albums. Live albums by American artists.

William Parker (b. Bronx, New York City, New York, January 10, 1952) is an American free jazz double bassist, poet and composer. He was not formally trained as a classical player, though he did study with Jimmy Garrison, Richard Davis, and Wilbur Ware and learned the tradition. Parker is one of few jazz bassists who regularly plays arco. He also plays several other instruments from around the world, including the West African kora. While Parker has been active since the early 1970s; he has had a higher public profile since the early 1990s.


1 Footnote To A Dream (For Miguel Pinero) 2:34
2 Hunkpapa Song (For Tatanka Iyotanka) 4:02
3 Baldwin's Interlude (For James Baldwin) 2:50
4 Morning Moon (For Everything That Sings) 5:59
5 For Julius Eastman 3:00
6 Holiday For Flowers (For Akira Kurosawa) 3:40
7 Life Song (For Thomas Merton) 4:14
8 A Thought For Silence (For Sedako) 5:39
9 Baldwin's Interlude II 1:58
10 Aborigine Song (For Don Byas) 3:11
11 Cloud And Sea Fading As Rain Falls (For Sarah Vaughan) 7:29
12 Invisible Pages (For Howard Zinn) 5:34
13 Aborigine Song II 2:01
14 Falling Shadows (For Henry Grimes) 8:23
15 Band In The Sky (For The Horizon) 6:00

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Boxholder Records
  • Copyright (c) – Boxholder Records
  • Published By – Centering Music
  • Recorded At – Tedesco Studios


  • Artwork By [Cover Art By] – Miriam Parker
  • Bass – William Parker (tracks: 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 14)
  • Design [Design By], Layout [Layout By] – Katherine Lucas
  • Edited By, Mixed By – James McLean
  • Liner Notes – William Parker
  • Other [Representing Boxholder Records] – Lou Kannenstine
  • Piano – Yuko Fujiyama (tracks: 1, 4 to 6, 9 to 11, 13, 15)
  • Producer [Produced By] – William Parker
  • Recorded By – Jon Rosenberg
  • Voice – Ellen Christi (tracks: 2, 3, 7, 8, 12, 14), Lisa Sokolov (tracks: 1, 4 to 6, 9 to 11, 13, 15)
  • Written-By [All Music And Words By] – William Parker


Recorded October 10, 1991 and March 3, 1993 at Tedesco Studio.
Edited and mixed November 2 and 3, 1995.
Centering Music, BMI
©1996, 2001

This music is dedicated to Jeanne Lee.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 786497447824
  • Barcode (Printed): 7 86497 44782 4
  • Rights Society (Publisher): BMI

MP3 FLAC related to William Parker - Song Cycle